University of the West Indies to confer 16 with honorary doctorates

Welcome to the MPE Caribbean Tourism Authority, a new resource for all things related to marketing, branding and promoting the unique Caribbean experience. To share stories, information or intelligence, contact us at

(From left) Adam Stewart, Dr. Joy St. John, and Sir Richard Richardson are among the 2022 honorary graduands.

A leading Caribbean hotelier from the island of Jamaica; a global leader in public health from Barbados; and a cricket legend from Antigua and Barbuda are among 16 distinguished global citizens to be conferred with honorary doctorate degrees by the University of the West Indies for their contributions to sport, culture, law, business, and science.


Adam Stewart of Sandals Resorts International (SRI); Dr. Joy St. John of the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA); and former West Indies cricket captain Sir Richard “Richie” Richardson will join the 2022 graduating class at ceremonies taking place between October 8 and November 5. The UWI Open Campus will retain the hosting of a virtual graduation ceremony.


Stewart, Executive Chairman of Sandals Resorts International, is being conferred with the Doctor of Laws (LLD) for his work as an entrepreneur and philanthropist. He leads the parent company of the world’s most recognized brands of luxury all-inclusive resorts, with close to 18,000 team members across 24 properties and eight destinations. Last year, UWI penned an agreement with SRI and Florida International University’s (FIU) Chaplin School of Hospitality & Tourism Management, to establish The Gordon ‘Butch’ Stewart International School of Hospitality & Tourism, a world-class tourism training institute based at the University’s Mona campus.


Dr. St. John, a UWI graduate, is the Executive Director of the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA) and has established a firm legacy in leading the Caribbean region’s public health response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Long before the COVID-19 pandemic, Dr. St. John, previously Barbados’ Chief Medical Officer, served the regional and international communities as an outstanding public health leader. She will receive the Doctor of Science (DSc) degree for her work in medicine and public health leadership.


From his boyhood days as captain of his school cricket team to his esteemed present-day role as Ambassador-at-Large of Antigua and Barbuda, Sir Richard has spent a lifetime committed to the sport of cricket. He is the founder of the annual Antigua and Barbuda International Masters Cricket Festival and the Richie Richardson Cricket Academy. In his own words, he desires to one day see cricket become a ‘fully globalized sport’. He will receive a Doctor of Laws (LLD) degree for his contribution to sport.


The schedule and list of honorary graduands for the 2022 ceremonies follow.


Five Islands Campus – Saturday October 8, 2022


Open Campus – Saturday, October 15, 2022 (Virtual)

  • Dr. Cleopatra Doumbia-Henry, PhD, LLM of Dominica for her work in international labor and maritime law – Doctor of Laws (LLD)
  • Sir Hugh Anthony Rawlins of St. Kitts and Nevis for contributions to the judicial arena – Doctor of Laws (LLD)


Cave Hill Campus – Saturday, October 22, 2022

  • Dr. Joy St. John of Barbados for her work in medicine and public health leadership – Doctor of Science (DSc)
  • Ambassador Gabriel Abed of Barbados for entrepreneurship and pioneering digital currency – Doctor of Laws (LLD)
  • Mr. E. Neville Isdell of Ireland for contributions to business and philanthropy – Doctor of Laws (LLD)


St. Augustine Campus – Thursday, October 27; Friday, October 28; and Saturday, October 29, 2022

  • Dr. Shakuntala Haraksingh Thilsted of Trinidad and Tobago for contributions to agricultural science and nutrition – Doctor of Science (DSc)
  • Ms. Ingrid L-A Lashley of Trinidad and Tobago for her work in corporate banking/finance – Doctor of Laws (LLD)
  • Ms. Rosalind Gabriel of Trinidad and Tobago for her work as a band leader/entertainer – Doctor of Letters (DLitt)
  • Dr. Wayne A. I. Frederick of Trinidad and Tobago for contributions to surgical science – Doctor of Science (DSc)
  • Lord Robert Nelson of Trinidad and Tobago for contributions to culture and calypso – Doctor of Letters (DLitt)


Mona Campus – Thursday, November 3; Friday November 4; and Saturday, November 5, 2022

  • Professor Orlando Patterson of Jamaica for his work as a historical and cultural sociologist – Doctor of Letters (DLitt)
  • Dr. Rosemary Moodie of Jamaica/Canada for pediatric medicine and philanthropy – Doctor of Science (DSc)
  • Mr. Adam Stewart of Jamaica for his work as an entrepreneur/philanthropist – Doctor of Laws (LLD)
  • Ms. Diane Jaffee of the USA for her work in finance – Doctor of Laws (LLD)
No Comments
Post a Comment